Review Of "Jacob Van Eyck's 'Der Fluten Lust-Hof'" By R. V. B. Griffioen

Document Type

Book Review

Publication Date


Published In



Der Fluyten Lusthof (Amsterdam: Matthysz, 1644-c1655) features about 120 tunes with variations for unaccompanied recorder by Jacob van Eyck. The collection is extraordinarily popular among today's recorder players. Griffioen's study, the first large-scale scholarly work on Van Eyck and one probably incapable of being supplanted, therefore fills a great need. There are chapters on the composer's life (which summarize and supplement Dick van den Hul's research, available only in Dutch) and on the Lusthof's publication history, its style (Thiemo Wind is preparing a more detailed study), and its instrumentation (including evidence from paintings). A central chapter--almost 300 pages--discusses the origin, history, and texts (with translations) of each tune; it also lists settings for various instruments of the same melody by other composers. This historical knowledge can dramatically affect interpretive decisions in performing Van Eyck's music. Griffioen's highly readable book is recommended for upper-divison undergraduates, graduate students, and researchers. It will be useful to college directors of early-music ensembles and indispensable to serious recorder players. Paper and layout are of exceptionally high quality.


This work is freely available courtesy of Choice Reviews. The review has been reproduced in full in the abstract field.

This document is currently not available here.